Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II inspects

2019 Bika Bya Baganda Football Championship :

  • Official opening match: Musu 1 (10) – 1 (9) Mutima Muyanja
  • Curtain Raiser: USPA 1-0 Team managers

Monday, 13th May: Nkejje Vs Ngabi Nsamba – Lubiri S.S Play ground (4 PM)

Musu (Edible rat) won the official
opening match of the 2019 Bika Bya Baganda football championship, eliminating a
star studded Mutima Muyanja at the green lush of the St Nazareth Kavulu play
ground in Mawokota Ssaza on Saturday, 11th May 2019.

The victors won a tense shoot out
10-9 after normal time had ended one goal apiece in a match also graced by His
Majesty, the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II.

Ivan Mayanja scored for Mutima
Muyanja in the opening stanza of the game.

Moments later, former Police and
Gombe SS player Badru Bunkeddeko found the equalizer for Musu as the half time
and the rest of the game ended all square to call for penalties.

During the thrilling albeit tense
shoot out, Musu out-scored the opposition 10-9.

The hero on the evening was Musu’s
forward player Badru Nsimbe who replaced goalkeeper Dennis Ssebuggwawo during
the shoot out.

Nsimbe stopped Mustafa Mujuzi’s
penalty and Pius Kaggwa also faltered, his effort kissing the woodwork.

The man of the moment, Nsimbe, composed
himself before confidently slotting  home
the winning kick that granted them victory and a slot at the next stage.

Only Badru Bunkeddeko had failed to
find the back of the next with his first kick settling on the cross bar.

The Bika football tournament is
played only by the Baganda tribe people and it has been played since 1950 with
Mbogo the initial winners.

Mmamba Gabunga has won the record
number of titles (10).

We prepared well for this match. We have been playing a number of friendly matches and faced all situations of the game. I thank the players because they fought their way recovering from a goal down to win the game

Faridah Bulega, Musu Head Coach

I thank the organizing committee for staging wonderful preparations as we hosted the Kabaka and having a successful opening ceremony of the Bika Bya Baganda Football Championship. We shall be having a single game per day unlike the previous editions where we had a double header. We need crowds to follow up these matches.

Hajji Sulaiman Magala, chairman Bika Bya Baganda football organizing committee

In the curtain raising game before the official opener, sports journalists under their umbrella body, Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) won 1-0 over the Bika team managers.

The matches resume on Monday, 13th May 2019 when Nkejje takes on Ngabi Nsamba at the Lubiri play ground.

Hajji Sulaiman Magala, chairman Bika
Bya Baganda organizing committee

line Ups:


Dennis Sebuggwawo (GK), Umar Nkoola,
Vincent Bbira, Roger Ssebyondo, Fisal Kaseesa, Ahmed Lugobe, Umar Bulega, Badru
Bunkeddeko, Ali Bunkeddeko, Moses Jjagwe

Subs: Musa Jagwe, Sulaiman Kaliba, Marvin
Mulumba, Henry Tomusange, Solomon Lumbuye

: Faridah Bulega

Muyanja XI

Nasser Lwamunda (GK), Charles Mutima,
Simon Namwanja, Shafik Kakeeto, Mustafa Mujuzi, Joseph Kasekende, Pius Kaggwa,
Shakur Makeera, Steven Luswata, Davis Mayanja, Ivan Mayanja

Subs: Fredrick Katoke, Derrick Luswata,
Fred Kayanja, Julius Kafuluma, Swalleh Namugera, Chaerles Bwanika, Bosco

: David Bwanika

1st Round Draw:

  • Musu 1 (10) – 1 (9) Mutima Muyanja
  • Nkejje
    Vs Ngabi Nsamba
  • Ngo
    Vs Kibe
  • Nsuma
    Vs Ngonge
  • Balangira
    Vs Nte
  • Njobe
    Vs Mamba Kakoboza
  • Ndiga
    Vs Ngaali
  • Mutima
    Musaji Vs Nvuma
  • Nkula
    Vs Nakinsige
  • Nvuubu
    Vs Lugave
  • Butiko
    Vs Nyonyi Ndisa
  • Kobe
    Vs Mazzi gakisasi
  • Nkusu
    Vs Mpeewo
  • Mpologoma
    Vs Kayoozi

Round Draw:

  • Winner
    Njovu & Mpeewo Vs Kasimba
  • Nyonyi
    Vs Ngeye
  • Fumbe
    Vs Ntalaganya
  • Kinyomo
    Vs Winner Ndiga & Ngaali
  • Mbwa
    Vs Winner Balangira & Nte
  • Nsenene
    Vs Winner Mpologoma & Kayoozi
  • Kiwere
    Vs Mbogo
  • Mamba
    Namakaka Vs Winner Nkusu & Njaza
  • Winner
    Butiko & Nyonyi Ndisa Vs Winner Kobe & Mazzi Gakisasi
  • Winner
    Ngo & Kibe Vs Nkerebwe
  • Winner
    Njobe & Mamba Kakoboza Vs Winner Nkejje & Ngabi Nsamba
  • Winner
    Nsuma & Ngonge Vs Ngabi Nyunga
  • Winner
    Musu & Mutima Muyanja Vs Winner Nvuubu & Lugave
  • Winner
    Mutima Musaji Vs Winner Nkula & Nakinsige

Football Past Winners:

  • 1950:Mbogo
  • 1951:Ngabi Nsamba
  • 1952:Mmamba
  • 1953:
    Not Held
  • 1954:Not
  • 1955:Kkobe
  • 1956:Mmamba
  • 1957:
    Nyonyi Nyange
  • 1958:
  • 1959:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1960:
  • 1961:
    Bbalangira and Kkobe
  • 1962:
  • 1963:
    Not Held
  • 1964:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1965:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1987:
    Ngabi Nsamba
  • 1988:
  • 1989:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1990:
  • 1991:
  • 1992:
  • 1993:
  • 1994:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 1995:
  • 1996:
  • 1997:
  • 1998:
  • 1999:
  • 2000:
  • 2001:
  • 2002:
  • 2003:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2004:Lugave
  • 2005:
  • 2006:
  • 2007:
    Ngabi Nsamba
  • 2008:
  • 2009:
  • 2010:
  • 2011:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2012:
  • 2013:
    Ngabi Nsamba
  • 2014:
    Mmamba Gabunga
  • 2015:
  • 2016:
  • 2017:
  • 2018:


This article was originally posted on Source link

Spread the love

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ekyooto Uganda
Don`t copy text!