Jinja S.S players dance after Lawrence Tezikya’s headed goal against Bulo Parents (Photo: David Isabirye)

The 2019 Copa Coca Cola group stage
matches were successfully concluded on Monday afternoon.

There are 16 schools left in the
competition from the total of 59 that entered this two week’s championship.

By the close of business for the grueling group stage matches where a total of 189 games have been played, Jinja Secondary School remains the school with 100 percent run, winning all the six matches.

The 2017 national champions (triumphed
in the edition hosted by Masaka) are on course for their second title in three

Lawrence Tezikya scored his 11th goal of the campaign (Photo: David Isabirye)

Led by Hassan Zzungu and Abbey Bogere
Kikomeko, Jinja S.S completed all their group B matches unbeaten.

They won in convincing fashion against St Paul (4-0), Nabbongo, Lugazi Homeland, Kakungulu Memorial School, Abim (10-1), and Bulo Parents (1-0).

Uganda U-17 player Isma Mugulusi has been in tip top form for Jinja S.S in the group stages (Photo: David Isabirye)
Right back Kanyakole has recorded a number of assists (Photo: David Isabirye)

It has been a wonderful journey moved from the opening match to the last group match. I thank the players for the show but it is a job half way. We are coming to the knock out stage which calls for clinical finishing and solid defending

Hassan Zzungu, Kirinya-Jinja S.S coach

Kirinya-Jinja S.S XI against Bulo Parents (Photo: David Isabirye)

successful schools:

From group A, Jinja Progressive
Academy (JIPRA) made it as group leaders to the group stage, joined by runners
up, St Kaggwa.

Jinja S.S topped group B with a
massive 18 points from six matches as Bulo Parents ended with 13 points

In group C, Royal Giant High School
and St John High School recorded 17 and 13 points respectively.

Unbeaten Standard High School, Zana and Kisozi Seed qualified from group D.

St Mary’s Kitende (16) and Nakaseke
International School (13) progressed from group E.

St Julian High School – Gayaza and St
Henry’s Kitovu made the grade from group F.

Unbeaten Masaka SS finished with 17
points in group G as runners up Kawempe Royal College ended with 13 points.

The draws to determine who faces who
at the round of 16 stage will be conducted on Tuesday, 14th May 2019
at Jinja College.

Still on Tuesday, it is the official
first resting day for the schools that have progressed as a recovery time to
relax muscles as well as treat injuries.

The tournament will progress therefore on Wednesday, 15th May 2019 with the round of 16 matches across the different venues in Jinja.

Schools to the round of 16:


  • Jinja
    Progressive (18 Points)
  • St
    Kaggwa (16 Points)


  • Jinja
    S.S (18 Points)
  • Bulo
    Parents (13 Points)


  • Royal Giants High (17 Points)
  • St John High School, Mukono (14 Points)


  • Kisozi Seed, Gomba (11 Points) *After Docking of points following Musede petition
  • Standard High Zana (11 Points) *After Docking of points following Musede petition


  • St
    Mary’s SS, Kitende (16 Points)
  • Nakaseke
    International (13 Points)


  • St Henry’s Kitovu (14 Points)
  • St Julian High School, Gayaza (13 Points)


  • Masaka
    SS (17 Points)
  • Kawempe
    Royal College (13 Points)


  • Buddo SS (15 Points, 14 Goal difference)
  • Kibuli SS (15 Points, 7 Goal difference)

Last Group Games (Monday Results):

9 AM:

  • Lugazi
    Homeland 1-1 Nabbongo SS
  • Abim
    SS 0-5 St Paul’s SS
  • Bulo
    Parents 0-2 Jinja S.S
  • Kisozi
    Seed 2-0 Mandela SS
  • Musedde
    Memorial 0-3  Lira Town College
  • Uganda
    Martyrs’ Rubaga 1-1 Standard High
    School, Zana


  • Kawempe
    Muslim 5-2 St Joseph College Layibi
  • Kawenge
    SS and Vocational 1-2 Amus College
  • Nyangilia
    SS 0-2 St Henry’s College, Kitovu
  • Busoga
    College Mwiri 1-0 Alliance High
  • Akii-Bua
    Comprehensive 1-0 Rock High School
  • Buddo
    S.S 0-1 Kibuli S.S


  • Hill View 1-0 Bulangira  Iganga Parents
  • Mbarara High School 1-1 St Mary’s Kitende
  • Fort Portal SS 0-0 Ngora High School

scorers after the group stages:

  • John
    Musenzi (High Standard Kateera) – 11 Goals
  • Lawrence
    Tezikya (Jinja SS) – 11 Goals
  • Geofrey
    Mivule (Kisozi Seed) – 09 Goals
  • Ronald
    Alyenyo (Kashenyi SS) – 08 Goals
  • Ambrose
    Owani (Loro SS) – 07 Goals
  • Emmanuel
    Jowang (Bulo Parents) – 06 Goals
  • Araphat
    Ngyembya (St Kaggwa) – 06 Goals
  • Andrew
    Otim (Mbarara High) – 06 Goals
  • Alex
    Okello (Jinja Progressive Academy) – 05 Goals
  • Hamuza
    Mulambuzi (Buddo SS) – 05 Goals
  • Mubarak
    Kakooza (Sentah College) – 05 Goals
  • Richard
    Basangwa (St Mary’s Kitende) – 05 Goals
  • Thomas
    Kabaale (Nakaseke International) – 05 Goals
  • Stanley
    Mupere (Hill View Bulangira) – 05 Goals
  • Shanon
    Akena (Restore Academy) – 05 Goals
  • John
    Baptist Akena (Sseke S.S) – 05 Goals
  • Charles
    Lwanga (St Mary’s SS Kitende) – 05 Goals
  • Ibrahim
    Musobya (Lugazi Homeland) – 05 Goals
  • Brian
    Obed (Kawempe Muslim) – 05 Goals
  • Alex
    Mutebi (Kawempe Muslim) – 05 Goals
  • Ian
    Mudhasi (Busoga College Mwiri) – 05 Goals


This article was originally posted on Source link

Spread the love

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ekyooto Uganda
Don`t copy text!