Proline Football Club were on Saturday crowned the FUFA Big League champions after beating moneybags Wakiso Giants in finals.

Coming into the game, Proline and the Purple Sharks had topped Elgon and Rwenzori groups to secure straight promotion into the Uganda Premier League and the game on Saturday was meant to decide the giant between the two clubs.

Shafic Bisaso being lifted high by Proline players.

Having dominated the game, a 33rd minute Bright Anunaki goal saw the Lugogo based team secure victory at the StarTimes Stadium, on a bright Saturday afternoon.

An Ibrahim Wammanah header met Anunaki who fired past the Purple Sharks’ Yasin Mugabi for Proline to take the lead at Lugogo and this turned to be the only goal of the game.

Wakiso Giants could not believe what had befallen them.

After the mandatory 90 minutes, Shafic Bisaso’s boys were crowned FUFA Big League champions to climax the league in style.

The team also reached the Stanbic Uganda Cup finals where they will play Bright Stars in Masaka later this month.

Proline’s Bright Anukani was the Most Valuable Player.

FUFA Big League awards and prize money distribution

Champions: Proline FC (Shs10M)

1st Runners-up: Wakiso Giants FC (Shs5M)

2nd Runners- up: Kyetume FC (Shs3.5M)

Fourth place: Kansai Plascon

Individual awards

Fair play award: Light SS (Shs2M)

Golden glove: Ivan Mutumba (Wakiso Giants, 9clean sheets in 15 games, Shs1M)

Golden boot: Ivan Bogere (14 goals-Proline FC, Shs1M)

Most Valuable Player: Bright Anukani (Proline FC, Shs1M)

Dove FC and UPDF FC will each get Shs1M.

The champion, first and second runners-up were promoted to play in the StarTimes FUFA Super League next season.

This article was orignally posted here Source link

Spread the love

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ekyooto Uganda
Don`t copy text!