Four senior commissioners from Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) have tendered their resignations, in what looks like a clear out of the old guard.

Together with Dicksons Kateshumbwa, the head of domestic taxes, other three commissioners have quit the tax body.

They include; Henry Saka, from domestic taxes, Silajji Kanyesigye, the commissioner in the large taxpayers office and Samuel Kahima, a manager in charge of rulings and interpretations.

URA said in a statement on Saturday that “these senior officials chose to resign and the board has accepted their resignations.” It added that “integrity, patriotism and professionalism will define the new era at URA,” a statement indicating that there could be serious questions on the workings of the officials that have quit.

RELATED: President Museveni fires URA boss, replaces her with his Advisor Musinguzi Rujoki

The commissioners worked with the former boss Doris Akol, who was pushed out of the leadership of the tax body in March. John Musigunzi Rujoki, a former intelligence officer, is the new commissioner general.

The quitting of the old commissioners could be looked at as an attempt for the new leadership to create a team they are comfortable to work with.

Sources at the tax body said some of these commissioners questioned President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni’s pick of the new commissioner general from outside the authority when there are experienced able people to take over.

The new commissioner general worked in audit department in the Special Revenue Protection Services, a military unit attached to Uganda Revenue Authority, and is believed to understand the inner workings of URA.

Museveni has been particularly hard on the old team, accusing them of failure to plug all tax leak holes.

READ ALSO: Exclusive: Shocking Details Why Museveni Fired Top URA Commissioner Dickson Kateshumbwa

The tax body had also immediately replaced the officials with other URA staff.

Patrick Mukiibi has been transferred from the position of Commissioner Corporate Services to the position of Commissioner Domestic Taxes,  Patience T. Rubagumya remains as Commissioner Legal Services and Board Affairs.

Herbert Rusoke remains as Commissioner Internal Audit and Compliance while Abel Kagumire remains as Acting Commissioner Customs. Mathew Mugabi has been appointed as Acting Commissioner Tax Investigations.

James Kizza is the new acting Commissioner Corporate Services while John Tinka Katungwesi will be acting assistant Commissioner Large Taxpayers Office.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
Don`t copy text!